GURFF RHYS – Annuncia il nuovo album “Seeking New Gods” e video – OUT 21/05/21



il nuovo album esce il 21.5.2021

Guarda il video del singolo

Loan Your Loneliness

Gruff Rhys annuncia l’uscita del nuovo album “Seeking New Gods” il 21 maggio su Rough Trade. “Seeking New Gods” è il suo settimo album ed è stato registrato dopo l’ultimo tour in USA e mixato a L.A. con il celebre produttore Mario C [Beastie Boys].

L’idea iniziale dell’album nasce dalla biografia di una montagna, il Monte Paektu (un volcano attivo nell’est Asia) ma durante la scrittura i testi di Gruff iniziarono a concentrarsi sull’incredibile durata della vita di una montagna e sulle caratteristiche che tramutano le montagne in figure mitologiche. Di conseguenza, sia le canzoni che la montagna sono diventate via via più personali.

Gruff on the album “The album is about people and the civilizations, and the spaces people inhabit over periods of time. How people come and go but the geology sticks around and changes more slowly. I think it’s about memory and time,” he suggests of Seeking New Gods’ meaning. “It’s still a biography of a mountain, but now it’s a Mount Paektu of the mind. You won’t learn much about the real mountain from listening to this record but you will feel something, hopefully.”- Gruff Rhys

Gruff on the videoThe monochrome has made it look much sharper and stylish (for want of a better word – I don’t think I know what style is!!) like a Japanese 60’s pop show or something!
We added a layer of cloud to add some spot colour and to integrate the album sleeve aesthetic to the video. The colour was always stronger at the very end – I don’t particularly like the brown slippery dinosaurs but love the mammoths and northern lights…. so we bought it back to colour by the end – the narrative being that a soloing guitarist accidentally invented colour TV with sheer exuberance!


Track listing

01 Mausoleum Of My Former Self

02 Can’t Carry On

03 Loan Your Loneliness

04 Seeking New Gods

05 Hiking in Lightning

06 Holiest of The Holy Men

07 The Keep

08 Everlasting Joy

09 Distant Snowy Peaks

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *